Saint George’s Cave is located at the foot of Saint George’s Hill of Kilkis and is ranked among the most appreciated in Greece. Its surface is relatively large and exceeds 1,000 square meters and has two floors. Its humidity remains constant at 95% and its temperature does not exceed 15 to 17 degrees Celsius. It consists of limestone rocks and dates back 235 million years ago. The creation of the cave began when the rain water managed to pass through the rocks by releasing carbon dioxide, resulting in the erosion of the rock by its acidic action. So with the rain water calcite is installed in the cave, which is the basic material of the cave formations. The cave was discovered around 1925 by the cemetery Georgios Pavlidis (Boulasikis) who worked and accidentally found himself in front of the entrance of the cave. The first mapping was made by Anna Petrochello in 1930, and much later in 1986, the cave became accessible after suitable excavation works that began in 1977. It is of particular cave importance, as there is no air stream where they are unique in their kind of stone coral, stalactite and stalagmite decoration on the walls, ceilings and floors due to the shaking and scattering of drops of water falling into the ground. Thus, among other things, there are several interesting forms called “Rhino”, “Snake”, “Kalogeros”, “Flamingo”. Additionally, the visitor chambers are six and are particularly spacious.
After scientific researches made by Czech scientists at the cave of Kilkis it was discovered that its vine can cure diseases such as childhood asthma and dermatological diseases originating from infections and allergies. In fact, the cave has begun to establish a guesthouse for patient hospitalization and conduct of treatment.